New Leaders Emerging for Upcoming Legislative Session

In the week since the 2010 election, state and federal lawmakers are continuing to be chosen as the new leaders who will guide the 96th Michigan Legislature and the 112th Congress.  Of great importance is the fact that the majority party changed in both the State and Federal Houses of Representatives.  Republicans have replaced the Democrats as the party in power in both instances.

The following Michigan Senators have been named to leadership positions within their chamber:
Senate Majority Leader:  Senator Randy Richardville (R-Monroe)
Assistant Majority Leader:  Dave Hildenbrand (R-Lowell)
President Pro-Tempore:  Senator-elect Tonya Schuitmaker (R-Lawton)
Assistant President Pro-Tempore:  Senator-elect Goeff Hansen (R-Hart)
Senate Majority Floor Leader:  Senator-elect Arlan Meekhof (R-West Olive)
Assistant Majority Floor Leader:  Senator-elect Phil Pavlov (R-St. Clair)
Majority Caucus Chair:  Senator-elect Rick Jones (R-Grand Legde)
Assistant Majority Caucus Chair:  Senator-elect Patrick Colbeck (R-Canton)
Senate Majority Caucus Whip:  Senator-elect Jack Brandenburg (R-Harrison Twp.)
Assistant Majority Caucus Whip:  Senator-elect Darwin Booher (R-Evart)
Senate Minority Leader:  Senator Gretchen Whitmer (D-East Lansing)
Senate Minority Floor Leader:  Senator Tupac Hunter (D-Detroit)

To date, the following Michigan House leadership has been named:
Speaker of the House:  Representative Jase Bolger (R-Marshall)
Speaker Pro Tem:  Rep. John Walsh (R-Livonia)
Associate Speaker Pro Tems:  Margaret O’Brien (R-Portage) and Rep. Paul Opsommer (R-DeWitt)
Majority Floor Leader:  Rep. Jim Stamas (R-Midland)
Assistant Majority Floor Leaders:  Lisa Posthumus Lyons (R-Alto) and Jeff Farrington (R-Utica)
Majority Caucus Chair:  Rep. Dave Agema (R-Grandville)
Majority Caucus Vice Chair:  Amanda Price (R-Park Twp.)
Majority Whip:  Rep. Pete Lund (R-Shelby Twp.)
House Minority Leader:  Richard Hammel (D-Mt. Morris)
Minority Floor Leader:  Rep. Kate Segal (D-Battle Creek)

On the Congressional front, Congressman Mike Rogers (R-MI-8) and Congresswoman Candice Miller (R-MI-10) have been chosen to serve on the House Republican committee to manage the transition to a new majority in the U.S. House of Representatives.  The 22-person transition team will review all House procedures and structures to ensure the 112th Congress is ready to immediately begin work on the priorities of the American people when it convenes in January.

Lastly, word is that Congressman Dave Camp will be the next chair of the powerful Ways and Means Committee.  This House committee oversees key issues including health care.  Stay tuned!

In preparation for the new legislative session that kicks off in January, NOW is the time to begin educating elected officials about the role of Community Health Centers in keeping individuals healthy and saving communities money.  Click here for a list of Michigan’s Congressional Representatives who will take/resume office in January, and for a list of state Senators and Representatives.  Please contact them to introduce yourself as a constituent and a representative of your Health Center, and to introduce them to the benefits that your Health Center provides their constituents and the communities they serve. As MPCA’s Director State Policy Doug Paterson said in last week’s blog post, “…we will be competing with thousands of others who feel their interests must also be heard.  Those who get the early start will have an advantage.”


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s